When a mapping is rejected, Mapping Status and Rule Status are updated. Refer to Mapping Status and Rule Status for more information.
To reject the mapping, the Developer:
- Clicks Edit for the mapping on the Mapping Approval page.
Enters a comment with the rejection reason for the mapping in the Comment field.
NOTE: If the action for the mapping is Manual, Rule or RuleXref, the Developer can update the SQL code for the rule in the Rule SQL field. The Rule SQL field only displays when the action for the selected mapping is Manual, Rule or RuleXref.
- Clicks Save.
- Clicks Reject.
NOTE: When the developer rejects the mapping, the Mapped By and Mapped On fields in Map are set to NULL.
NOTE: A Developer can select multiple mappings and click Reject for the group. Refer to Approve or Reject Multiple Mappings for more information.
NOTE: Back in Map, the RULE STATUS for the mapping on the Field Mappings page is changed to Revision Requested and the MAPPING STATUS is changed from Complete to Design Required. The comment added by the Developer on the Mapping Approval page displays in Map on the Field Mappings page’s Vertical View in the Comment field.
NOTE: If the Field Mappings page is open in Map when a mapping is rejected, refresh the Field Mappings page manually to see the update.
Once the Developer has approved or rejected a mapping, the mapping no longer displays on the Mapping Approval page.
To continue the Mapping Approval process in the case of a rejection the following steps are completed in Map:
The Mapper selects the mapping and clicks Reset on the Page toolbar.
NOTE: When a user clicks Reset, the Created By and Created On fields, on the Vertical View of the Field Mappings page, are cleared.
NOTE: If the original mapping action created a rule in Transform, what happens to that rule when it is reset in Map is determined by a parameter set in Console on the Map tab of the Parameters page. In the Reset Transform Rule list box, the following options are available:
- Deactivate Transform Rule – The status of the rule Map created during the mapping process and registered in Transform is changed to Inactive in Transform when the mapping is reset in Map.
- Delete Transform Rule – The rule Map created during the mapping process and registered in Transform is deleted when the mapping is reset in Map. The rule is deleted from the database and its registrations are removed from Transform.
- Ignore Transform Rule – The rule Map created during the mapping process and registered in Transform is not affected by the reset.
- The Mapper makes the corrections to the mapping as requested by the Developer, and sets the MAPPING STATUS to Complete.
- The Mapper saves the rule and clicks Submit icon on the Page toolbar.
- Map drops the SQL Objects associated with the incorrect mapping and builds new Objects. The names of these Objects do not change in the database.
NOTE: If the mapping had an Action of Construction, the page created in Construct is not deleted. It must be manually deleted from the database.
Map creates a record on the Mapping Approval page and the review process begins again.